Need Help With Legal Question

This forum will contain a listing and summary of current RI laws.

Need Help With Legal Question

Postby Matthew92174 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:28 am

I'm a Massachusetts resident with an unrestricted Class A large capacity license to carry. I'll be moving to RI for a short period of time, probably 5 months max, and then moving back to Massachusetts. What are my options for maintaining possession of my 2 handguns and a rifle? I know I cannot carry them, but am I O.K. to transport them and possess them in RI, albeit unloaded and locked in an apartment.

I do have the ability to leave them with someone I trust in MA who owns a safe as a last resort.

Thanks for your assistance
Matthew92174

Re: Need Help With Legal Question

Postby n1bsbri » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:43 am

Matthew92174 wrote:I'm a Massachusetts resident with an unrestricted Class A large capacity license to carry. I'll be moving to RI for a short period of time, probably 5 months max, and then moving back to Massachusetts. What are my options for maintaining possession of my 2 handguns and a rifle? I know I cannot carry them, but am I O.K. to transport them and possess them in RI, albeit unloaded and locked in an apartment.

I do have the ability to leave them with someone I trust in MA who owns a safe as a last resort.

Thanks for your assistance

You can transport them to your new home in RI, and keep them there. You can also transport them back and forth to the range. You are not required to keep them locked and unloaded, use your judgement on storage and keep them safely.

Refer to the statutes for the specific transport requirements.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title11/11-47/index.htm
§ 11-47-8 and
§ 11-47-10
“What New England is, is a state of mind, a place where dry humor and perpetual disappointment blend to produce an ironic pessimism that folks from away find most perplexing”― Willem Lange
n1bsbri

Re: Need Help With Legal Question