Is ISIS a "good enough" reason

Post questions about RI law and obtaining a carry permit here.

Is ISIS a "good enough" reason

Postby floord » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:04 pm

With all the talk of ISIS saying they want to harm us soldiers on us soil, is that not a "need" to carry a firearm? Ive been delaying my application for well over a year now for a few reasons and the biggest is my "need" to carry.

What do you guys think?

PS I am no longer in the us military but I am a veteran, same thing to me. I dont think ISIS is going to say o well he ets'd leave him alone.
floord

Re: Is ISIS a "good enough" reason

Postby newportri » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:18 pm

Are you applying locally (where) or to the AG?
Your reason to carry a firearm seems to be for personal protection, which I think is the best reason anyone can have to CCW. The threat of ISIS is more along the lines that you have demonstrated a "need" (for the AG). If you are applying locally you don't have to worry too much about the need part, but if the application asks for it, then you should write something down. If it is an AG application I don't think the AG would put any weight on the threat from ISIS being a "need" since he would argue that everyone has that "need" and he would never issue to everyone anyway. If you are one of those that have been named by ISIS then it would probably be a different story.
....the right to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.
Check out our website here:
http://www.rifol.org/
newportri

Postby floord » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:25 pm

newportri wrote:Are you applying locally (where) or to the AG?